top of page

It Can Be The Difference Between Success And...

Updated: Feb 4, 2021

The other day I was chatting with a friend of mine who had recently gotten engaged. She was giddy with excitement in talking about her upcoming wedding later this year. They had set a date in September and were in the process of starting to plan everything out. One thing she asked me was if I knew any wedding planners as they were hoping to find one pretty quickly. (more on that in a minute) Like most future brides stressed already about getting it all done and there was one other thing that was really stressing her out…. Fitting into her wedding dress.

You see she wanted to wear the same dress her mother had gotten married in. Sadly her mother had passed away and this was her way of having her mother be at the wedding. How can you not love that right? But the dress doesn’t fit right now. To use her words “I’ve got some work to do to make it fit” She told me how she had made a vow to herself that she was going to get in shape finally not just to fit into the dress but to feel better also. She had made it her New Year’s Resolution. To which I asked: “How’s it going”. Sadly she said it wasn’t going well at all. In fact she had given up. She relayed to me how on New Year’s Day, she had cleaned out her apartment of all the junk food and had pulled out a couple of old fitness videos she had which were still sitting on her DVD player (I didn’t even know people still had DVD players, oops) :)

She had also found some diet program in a woman’s magazine and had tried following it but found it difficult. She said: “I tried it for almost a week and was starving. Plus I didn’t like a lot of the foods they had on the diet and didn’t know what to do” I could sense the sadness in her voice and relayed to her that I’ve been there… I get it. And I’m sure many of you reading this get it too. No one wants to be out of shape, unhealthy or as she put it “fat”. Least of all, a woman who is getting married in a few short months and wants to look good in her mom’s wedding dress. Most of us do try at some point to do something about it only to find out its hard especially when we try and go it alone. It’s like trying to swim the English Channel with a bunch of lead weights tied to you. Can you complete the journey? Sure but it’s going to be very difficult and you’ll like give up before you get there.

The hardest part for most people? Staying motivated.


You see there are going to be days when you just don’t feel like keeping going. It’s too easy to say I’ll skip working out today and do it tomorrow. Or I’m too tired to cook I’ll just order a pizza. Next thing you know days, week’s even months have passed since you exercised and you’re right back to your old eating habits. Add to it many people aren’t sure how to go about getting in shape. They find some diet in a magazine or on social media or they join a gym only to find out what may have worked for others won’t work for them. As I talked with her and mentioned this she was shaking her head in agreement and no doubt many of you are too. We’ve all been there at some point including me. And let me tell you having trained dozens of women who are looking to get in shape for their wedding there is NO ONE more motivated to get in shape than a woman who wants to look good in her dress on her special day. So if they struggle is it any wonder we all do? What can you do? So I asked her: “You mentioned earlier you were looking to find a wedding planner, May I ask why you need one?”

She replied: “Because it’s a lot of work and I’m not sure how to get everything done, I just need help” Now I totally understand where she is coming from and told her that. Trying to achieve a goal of having that “perfect wedding” takes a ton of hard work and dedication. And it takes motivation to keep going because as those of you who are married know it’s a monumental task to plan a wedding. Next I asked her: “I get why you need help planning the wedding, heck I would too, but did you ever consider hiring a coach to help you with your goal to fit in your wedding dress?

Someone who can guide you and keep you on track?” Now I could see the wheels turning and the light bulb come on. She finally realized that she needed help with the hard work, dedication and most of all motivation to keep going. Long story short I’ll be working with her to help her achieve her dreams and I can’t wait to see her in that dress. You see in a way I’ll be her “fitness wedding planner”. I’ll be working with her to help her follow an exercise and nutrition program that will help her achieve her dream of looking good in that dress and in doing so take all the stress out of it for her. I’ll be holding her accountable and when she needs help to stay motivated I’ll be there with her every step of the way. That in a nutshell is what Laurie and I (or any quality coach)do as Trainers and Nutrition Coaches. And while you may not have a wedding to get ready for the principals still apply. So if you’re struggling with your goal to get healthy, If you’ve given up on your New Year’s Resolution for another year

If you’re tired of trying to figure out how to get the job done. Then why not do something for yourself that can help you succeed. Hire a personal trainer or coach


If you found this tip helpful could you do us favor and help spread the word by liking and sharing it so that others can see it also. We'd really appreciate it!


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page